the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized in five principal divisions: Financial Affairs, Economic Affairs, Taxation, Federal-Provincial-Municipal Relations, and Treasury Board. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department. The Tariff Board, the Municipal Development and Loan Board, the Bank of Canada and the Bureau of Government Organization report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

**Department of Fisheries.**—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on the following international commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, Great Lakes Fishery, and North Pacific Fur Seal.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as the Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada.

The Board operates under the Minister of Fisheries and membership consists of a full-time chairman and not more than 18 other members. The majority of Board members are university scientists, and other members are representative of the fishing industry and the Department of Fisheries.

The Board operates four biological stations and an Arctic Unit across Canada, and three technological stations with two technological application units and two oceanographic groups. It serves as the scientific arm of the Department of Fisheries and its principal objective is to increase the scope and value of Canadian fisheries through scientific research.

Department of Forestry.—Established in October 1960, the Department of Forestry conducts comprehensive programs of research relating to forest management, silviculture and protection against fire, insects and diseases, and relating to the utilization of forest products. It also carries out economic studies relating to forest resources and the forest industries. Through a developing information program it seeks to promote greater public understanding of the proper management, protection and use of the forest resources. Financial assistance is offered to the provinces under agreements authorized by the Governor in Council in order to expedite progress in specific forestry programs. It carries out forest surveys and provides technical advice and assistance to other agencies of the Federal Government which are responsible for the administration of forest lands. The Department co-operates with international organizations concerned with forestry and in which Canada maintains membership, and the Minister of Forestry reports to Parliament for the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.

Department of Industry.—In 1963 legislation was introduced into Parliament to establish the Department of Industry. On July 22, 1963, Royal Assent was given to the Department of Industry Act and, with the proclamation on July 25, 1963, the new Department came into existence. Under the Act, the duties, powers and functions of the Minister of Industry are "to include all matters relating to manufacturing industries in Canada over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other branch or agency of the Government of Canada". The Department is responsible for promoting the establishment, growth, efficiency and improvement of manufacturing industries in Canada through the development and implementation of programs to assist manufacturers to adjust to changing market conditions, to help them develop new lines of production and enter new markets, and to promote greater industrial research and development as well as good design within Canadian industry.

The Area Development Agency—part of the Department of Industry—is responsible for undertaking research and investigations on an area or regional basis and preparing programs of development for designated areas of high unemployment and slow economic growth in co-operation with the provinces. The Agency administers the various Federal Government incentive measures intended to foster the economic growth of designated areas.

Department of Insurance.—The Minister of Finance is responsible for the Department of Insurance which originated in 1875 as a branch of the Department of Finance but was constituted